A is for Animal Orchestra

A

April is here, and it’s triple terror month. Why? Because

1. It’s time to take Angie Karcher’s excellent and rigorous Rhyming Picture Book Month (RhyPiBoMo) pledge.

2. I have to seriously bring my blog out of hibernation if I want to be part of the Blogging From A to Z challenge.

3. It’s my birth month (AKA the Forget My Age Challenge).

There are a few days left before I have to worry about number 3, but what about 1 and 2? I’m already behind on both. Do I have what I takes? Is there a shortcut?

Yes! I can combine RhyPiBoMo with A to Z! Why didn’t I think of this back in 2014?

The second and third steps of the RhyPiBoMo pledge are to read a rhyming picture book and children’s poem daily.

rhypibomo-2015-pledge3-e1426721144125

Why not pick titles in alphabetical order and write about my RhyPiBoMo homework for the A to Z challenge? Brilliant! Or brilliantly lazy. You decide.

And where did I find my first rhyming picture book? On Overdrive. Huzzah! No leaving home required, and I got to read Ilo Orleans’ Animal Orchestra on my laptop.

51be-z9lQwL._SX258_BO1,204,203,200_

Everyone in Animal Town has gathered to watch the orchestra for Musical Day. I could spend an afternoon pouring over the brightly-colored menagerie, but the show must go on. There’s a movement, variety, energy and exuberance in the din of the animal orchestra that is enhanced by the simple but energetic rhyme and onomatopoeia.

Using verbs as varied as the animals, themselves, the furry musicians don’t merely “play” their instruments. They tweedle, zoom, bugle and flute!

And these critters have stage presence! Hippo (the handsomest in all of Animal Land) is our conductor for the evening, and he brings down the house.

“Hip-HIPPO-ray” indeed.

3 comments

  1. Wow. Up until 2 minutes ago I was not aware there is such a thing as Rhyming Picture Book Month. That’s a challenge that would probably break me 🙂 A good theme, though!

    @TarkabarkaHolgy from
    Multicolored Diary – Epics from A to Z
    MopDog – 26 Ways to Die in Medieval Hungary

Leave a Reply

